Want to use such a trick that locks your iPhone and iPad’s screen to one app? Yes, you’re thinking it right! Guided Access is a very convenient accessibility feature that does the job for you. Not only locking your device’s screen, but it can also restrict what you touch.

Now, you are probably wondering what this feature is all about? Also, the little introduction might have confused you about its function and how it is useful. To give you more clarity about the same, iOS and iPadOS has a feature named ‘Guided Access’ that is primarily designed for the teachers, parents, businesses, etc. It enables you to put restrictions on how your Apple device works. For instance, if you let your children use your iPhone or iPad to use a particular app, you can restrict access to that app only using the Guided Access feature.

In short, Guided Access restricts anyone from messing with the settings of your Apple device. Are you keen on trying this feature on your iOS or iPadOS? Below is a guide on using the Guided Access to lock an app on the screen on an Apple device.

How to Use Guided Access on iPhone and iPad?

Before using the feature, it is essential to enable the same on your device. The steps to use the Guided Access feature on your iPhone and iPad are:

  1. Go to the ‘Settings’ app on your Apple device.
  2. Locate the ‘Accessibility’ tab and click on the same.
  3. Select the ‘Guided Access’ option at the bottom of the next window.
  4. Turn the slider on for the ‘Guided Access’ feature.
  5. Next, jump to the application that you want to lock on the screen on your iPhone and iPad.
  6. Click the power button three times to bring up the ‘Accessibility Shortcuts’ pop-up menu.
  7. Select the ‘Guided Access’ option.
  8. A Guided Access setup menu will open. Select the areas you want to disable on the screen. Also, hit the ‘Options’ button to bring up more controls.
  9. The ‘Options’ button enables you to handle the motion controls. Also, you can set a time restriction for the app.
  10. Once you’ve set up configuring, hit the ‘Start’ button on top of the screen.
  11. The next window will prompt you to set a passcode to exit the Guided Access or change the settings.

As soon as you enter the passcode, a Guided Access session will start on your Apple device.

How to Exit the Guided Access Mode on iPhone and iPad?

The steps to exit the Guided Access mode on the iPhone and iPad are:

  1. While you’re in the Guided Access mode, click on the power button thrice.
  2. Enter the passcode you had set for the Guided Access session.
  3. You’ll be taken back to the Guided Access menu, where you can re-adjust the settings.
  4. Click on the ‘End’ button on the top-left corner of the screen.

A ‘Guided Access Ended’ notification will flash indicating that you’re no more in the Guided Access mode.

That is all the process involves. Now, you’ve learned about entering and exiting a Guided Access mode. Try it on your Apple devices to keep anyone from invading your privacy or mess with the settings of your device.

The Guided Access feature is a very convenient option to choose from. For instance, you can disable the areas of the screen to avoid misclicking.

The feature is very under-rated, and a lot of Apple device users aren’t aware of its capability. As you’re well aware of the tool now, you can educate your friends and family about the same and take advantage to its fullest.

David Maxwell is a creative person who has been writing blogs and articles about cybersecurity. He writes about the latest updates regarding mcafee.com/activate and how it can improve the work experience of users. His articles have been published in many popular e-magazines, blogs and websites.

Categories: News

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *